The Prince

Posted: March 1, 2011 in Poems

In memory of Dr. Indubhushan Vaman Bade, my grandfather. We miss you, Dada Ajoba.

Dr. Indubhushan Vaman Bade

Dada Ajoba

They feared and respected him

They loked up to him, since

He was of no royal blood

But still was he a Prince.

Sired by a King he was;

One championed the weak

And fought every battle on their front,

Making tigers of the meek.

Science was the Prince’s passion,

Quite apart from the beauty he wed:

He was known to everyone here and there,

His name was much widespread.

He broke free from society’s norms

And did what no one could:

Considered his status second to

The cause of the greater good.

Determined to live the way he would,

He refused to live by another’s diktat.

He cannot go away, no,

He is too strong for that.

They still stay fresh in my mind,

The fair skin and the chiseled face

The regal nose, the arched brow,

That booming voice, the unbridled grace.

He still lives on, not just in thoughts,

He has never ceased to shine

For I see him living on in me,

In every glance of mine.

Comments
  1. So,that was your grandfather eh? I’ve never come across a more royal, a more beautiful and more respectful tribute. I swear it. Not only do you weave a thousand unsaid words through your verse, you give the greatest honour to a man who now watches over you and your family. If he’d read this, he’d have been proud to have you as his granddaughter. I know this comment sounds really patronizing, it isn’t. I mean all that I’ve said. Keep writing Nupur πŸ™‚
    And God Bless πŸ™‚

    • smartie94 says:

      I miss him a lot. This is the least I could do for a man who was so important to me. He taught me so much and I just didn’t realize how important he was when he was there. πŸ˜₯

      Thanks πŸ™‚

      • What matters is that you’ve understood his importance now πŸ™‚
        We all learn so much from elders,I’m surprised so many don’t understand that fact… πŸ™‚

  2. Madhumathi says:

    Great tribute to ur grandfather.. πŸ™‚ God bless u πŸ™‚

  3. Nandhini says:

    For sure he read this post before anyone else did!

Leave a Reply

