Shadows

Posted: April 29, 2011 in Poems

I know when it is morning

But perhaps it is night

The lights are always on.

People walk around me

Busy with their own lives

Sometimes they talk to me.

I am scared,

I never know if they are the people of now

Or the shadows of the past.

The lines have blurred,

I know not where I am

On a vacation to an unknown place

Or playing with forgotten friends

Or singing a tuneless song.

They look at me with sympathy

When I cry for things long gone

Or those that never existed.

Sometimes I think He has come

To take me like he took him

But I am shaken awake before he can.

I am a child now

Lost in my dreams and nightmares

And joys and sorrows

And lights and shadows.

Comments
  1. the shadows had a shade of grey,
    the darkness perched for another prey,
    but then came in the blinding light,
    brightening the ever-darkening night..

    beautiful post…

    — aneek ( http://sylarthemaverick.blogspot.com )

  2. Reminded me thoda thoda of insane πŸ™‚
    Awesome one yaar πŸ˜€
    what is the story behind this one?:-)

  3. thats beautiful, makes me wish i could hold ur hand-in a good way

  4. Prateek says:

    Nicely penned Nupur. Everything reminded me of insomnia. πŸ™‚

  5. I can relate to the word play..a mirror of my own mind perhaps πŸ™‚

  6. Varun says:

    Nice poem….keep writing..
    cheers πŸ™‚

  7. A good entry! Simple and sweet! Keep up the passion!

Leave a Reply

