A Spellbinding Love Story

Posted: May 10, 2011 in About Me

I was six years old when I fell in love. It happened in a rather strange manner…at a bookstore.
My father had subscribed to a local library, which I visited once a week, and always borrowed three books-two of Enid Blyton and one of Tintin.
One afternoon of November 2000 something broke this ritual, quite by accident. It was the afternoon I was to fall in love. I was browsing through the kids’ section when my eyes fell upon a huge red book, with a picture of a dragon breathing fire on a bespectacled boy straddling a broomstick. I was fascinated by the illustration. At that instant, Enid Blyton books became a thing of the past. And I borrowed the book for the week. I wanted to show my parents that I’m finally growing up, reading such big and grown-up books.
When I opened the book, however, I didn’t understand a thing. I was very upset. I wasn’t that grown up after all. But on closer inspection, my father guessed that there was a prequel to that book (not one, but three prequels. This was book four). He took it back to the library the very next day and returned with a smaller book, but with a picture of the same boy on the cover. I was disappointed because the book was so small. But I made my mind up to read, nevertheless. I wanted to reach the big red book.
That night, I read the title out loud to my mother, “Harry Potter and the Phil…Philsop’s Stone.”
“No, dear, it’s Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” she said.

And as the story progressed, I knew I was in love. With the picturesque Privet Drive, the snotty Dursleys, and most of all, the hero of the book, Harry Potter. I was introduced to a whole new world of spells, charms, Muggles and evil wizards as I journeyed with Harry right from the torturous days with the Dursleys to his first trips to Diagon Alley and the school of magic, Hogwarts, to all his different adventures during the course of the series.
Magic became my religion and the Harry Potter series my Bible. For the next seven years, I ate, drank and slept Harry Potter. I even liked to chant spells when no one was around.
On my eleventh birthday, I prayed to God I’d receive a letter to Hogwarts. I was heartbroken when I didn’t.
I loved Ron, Hermione and Sirius. I admired Dumbledore and Snape (despite their double-sided characters). I despised Voldemort and hated Ginny Weasley with a passion (just because she and Harry ended up together). The characters of the book were as much a part of my life as my baby sister (who knew how to pronounce Albus Dumbledore from the age of nine months).
I cried when I read part seven because many of my favourite characters died. As was the case with several adults and children over the world, J.K. Rowling had indeed cast a spell on me. πŸ™‚

The excitement of discovering a whole new world, hidden from human(or Muggles, as the book calls us) eyes-believable, even-is unbeatable. Ms. Rowling’s style of writing has captivated millions over the world. No character is perfectly idealistic and all of their dark sides have been laid bare for the readers’ assessment. The different parts of the storyline look like they have actually occurred (I often wonder how else Ms. Rowling could have thought of such an apt ending to a particular subplot). Till date, I have been reading the books over and over…I never get tired of them.
Despite having trysts with other book series like Eragon and Percy Jackson, nothing I have come across can ever enthrall me the way Harry Potter did. It has been, and always will be, my first love.
Harry Potter FTW! πŸ˜€

(Photo courtesy: Wikipedia)

Comments
  1. Yash says:

    Really enjoyed reading this! πŸ˜€
    I wonder how people compare Harry Potter to Twilight/Percy Jackson.. Clearly, these people either don’t appreciate good literature or are too easy to impress. πŸ˜›

  2. Prateek says:

    HP Series can make anybody fall in love with itself.
    Nice read.

  3. Neeta says:

    I thoroughly loved your love story. I enjoyed reading every word of it and I can swear that I blinked only twice. I could not take my eyes off or stop for a second till I finished reading πŸ™‚

    Neeta!

    PS:
    I love Harry Potter too!

Leave a Reply

